TEA REVIEW: In Nature Teas – Aged White Autumn Breeze Tea

IMG_5297

Tea and origin: White tea from Fujian province, China
Twitter: @innatureteas
Link to Aged White

Ageing does great things to oolongs and puerh, but this is the first aged white tea that I can recall trying. It seems like aged tea typically has a more ‘matured’ flavour, which I initially think will be good to balance out the sweetness in white tea. Let’s get to tasting and test out my hypothesis.

Tasting notes

Dry leaf: A mix of broken and medium-sized leaves that range in colour from light                              brown to dark brown to green. Has a crispy, sweet aroma

Wet leaf: Sweet – tree fruit or berry-like

Liquor colour: Light to dark yellow, depending on infusion number

Liquor aroma: Earthy, musty

Liquor flavour: Fruity sweetness (honeydew melon-like), with earthy, musty and                                             grassy notes. It is medium-bodied, with mild astringency and a dry                                         finish. Liquor has a thick mouthfeel that provides a sweet aftertaste

Infusion method: Ceramic or glass teapot                                                                                                                       3 to 5 grams of tea                                                                                                                                 200ml of water at 80C                                                                                                                         Infusion times: 2m, 3m, 4m                                                                                                               2 to 3 infusions

Comments/Conclusions

While I’m not the biggest fan of white tea, this the style of white tea I’d go for: it has a good amount of body, and it is not overly sweet. I’m guessing the ageing gives it the earthy, musty and grassy flavours that round the tea out. This tea is great value for money, and I think it would appeal to white tea lovers, as well as those keen on light green or first flush Darjeeling teas

Retail price: 50 grams for £5.50

About teaxplorer

I grew up in the Midwest of the US and was introduced to tea at a very young age - unsweetened iced tea, that is! It was not until my early 20s, when I was seeking a lighter alternative to coffee, that I took tea drinking to a new level. I still remember my mother suggesting that I try putting milk in a cup of black tea (something that actually sounded a bit repulsive at the time, but I gave it a go). I quickly became tired of supermarket tea and started ordering teas from shops and companies all over the US. Throughout my 20s and now into my early 30s, pursuits in higher education studies, work opportunities and marriage have given me opportunities to live in the UK, Canada and Germany and travel around the world, which has sparked an even greater interest in tea and the culture of tea. This blog is my outlet to discuss my love of tea and show off some of my photos. All images and opinions on this blog are my own, unless stated otherwise. I retain copyright on all photographs, but please do not hesitate to contact me at teaxplorer@gmail.com if you wish to reproduce any of my images. Likewise, if you would like me to review and photograph any teas for you, please get in touch. I would be happy to hear from you. Thank you for stopping by my blog, and I hope you return many times! Happy drinking! Drew B (@teaxplorer)
This entry was posted in Chinese white tea, In Nature Teas, White tea and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment