TEA REVIEW: Baraka Teas – Sikkim Black (2014 Autumnal Flush)

IMG_5616
Tea and origin: FTGFOP Autumnal flush black tea from Temi Tea Garden, Sikkim, India
Harvest: October 2014
Twitter: @BarakaTeas
Facebook: Baraka Teas
Link to Sikkim Black

I have tasted so few Sikkim teas that I’m walking into this review a bit blind. From what I remember of the last one I tried years ago, they are a bit like a Darjeeling. The aroma of the dry leaf is very characteristic of a Darjeeling, so I’m looking forward to this review.

Baraka Teas sourced this tea from the Temi Tea Garden, a garden located in the northeastern Indian state of Sikkim. The tea is grown at an altitude between 3,500 and 6,000 feet.

Tasting notes

Dry leaf: Medium-sized leaves that have golden and silver tips scattered throughout. It                       has a crisp, citrus-like aroma

Wet leaf: Muscatel and tree fruits

Liquor colour: Golden to light brown, depending on infusion time

Liquor aroma: Muscatel

Liquor flavour: Muscatel, tree fruits and woody flavours. It has a sweet, smooth                                               medium body and a mild to moderate astringency. The finish is                                               slightly dry, but the tea has a clean mouthfeel

Infusion method: A glass teapot                                                                                                                                         3 to 5 grams of tea                                                                                                                                 200ml of 90C water                                                                                                                               Infuse 1 to 2 minutes with teapot                                                                                                       3 infusions

Comments/Conclusions

I am a big fan of Darjeeling teas, so I have to say that this tea was spot on for me. Compared to a many other Darjeeling, this Sikkim seemed sweeter and less dry, but it doesn’t have the strong muscatel flavours and body that you can find in some Darjeelings. Infusing it for a longer time with slightly higher water temperatures does pull out some muscatel and earthy notes that are not as apparent in short infusions, but you will find the astringency and dry aftertaste stronger. Personally, I like a short, cooler infusion. It is an ideal afternoon or post-dinner tea.

Retail price: 50 gram pouch for £10

About teaxplorer

I grew up in the Midwest of the US and was introduced to tea at a very young age - unsweetened iced tea, that is! It was not until my early 20s, when I was seeking a lighter alternative to coffee, that I took tea drinking to a new level. I still remember my mother suggesting that I try putting milk in a cup of black tea (something that actually sounded a bit repulsive at the time, but I gave it a go). I quickly became tired of supermarket tea and started ordering teas from shops and companies all over the US. Throughout my 20s and now into my early 30s, pursuits in higher education studies, work opportunities and marriage have given me opportunities to live in the UK, Canada and Germany and travel around the world, which has sparked an even greater interest in tea and the culture of tea. This blog is my outlet to discuss my love of tea and show off some of my photos. All images and opinions on this blog are my own, unless stated otherwise. I retain copyright on all photographs, but please do not hesitate to contact me at teaxplorer@gmail.com if you wish to reproduce any of my images. Likewise, if you would like me to review and photograph any teas for you, please get in touch. I would be happy to hear from you. Thank you for stopping by my blog, and I hope you return many times! Happy drinking! Drew B (@teaxplorer)
This entry was posted in Baraka Teas, Black tea, Sikkim and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TEA REVIEW: Baraka Teas – Sikkim Black (2014 Autumnal Flush)

  1. Pingback: TEAWARE REVIEW: Baraka Teas – Revolutionary Glass Tea Infuser | teaxplorer

Leave a comment