TEA REVIEW: Grey’s Teas – Da Hong Pao (Royal Red Robe)

IMG_5414

Tea and origin: Roasted oolong tea from Fujian Province, China
Twitter: @greysteas
Facebook: Grey’s Tea
Link to Da Hong Pao (Red Robe)

Red Robe, which is one of the most well-known Chinese teas, has recently received much media coverage for being sold at auction or in restaurants for mind-blowing sums of money. Originally the tea was produced from six mother trees in the Wuyishan National Park that are over 300 years old. These trees produced approximately a kilo of tea each year and were reserved for emperors. Cuttings were eventually taken from these original mother trees and planted. Tea from these cuttings can also fetch astronomical sums, depending how similar they are to the tea of one of the mother trees.

Many teashops now carry a Red Robe tea. How they relate to the mother trees, however, is usually a mystery to me. Prices vary widely depending on quality, but I usually find them to be all very drinkable. Today I’m trying Grey’s Teas’ Red Robe. It is priced well and the leaves are nice and full. Let’s see how it cups out.

Tasting notes

Dry leaf: Full and medium-sized twisted leaves that have a light toasted aroma

Wet leaf: Roasted and peachy notes

Liquor colour: Golden to light brown, depending on infusion number

Liquor aroma: Roasted and peachy-like sweet notes

Liquor flavour: It has a light roasted flavour with some sweet, peachy and honey-like                                     notes. It is a medium-bodied tea that is very smooth. The tea has a                                         lingering, roasted aftertaste

Infusion method: Gong fu style is best, with a gaiwan or Yixing teapot                                                                     4 to 5 grams of tea                                                                                                                                 150 to 200 ml of 95C water                                                                                                                 Very short infusions: 5 to 30 seconds                                                                                               4 to 6 infusions

Comments/Conclusions

This tea has a good amount of complexity between its roasted and sweet notes. Even if you are not totally sold on roasted oolongs, this tea is not overly roasted – which I personally like. Because it cups out numerous infusions, the tea is good value for money. It is not the most complex Red Robe I’ve tried, but it doesn’t fall short on flavour and aroma, by an means

Retail price: 60 gram packet for £16.13 /125 gram packet for £29.32

About teaxplorer

I grew up in the Midwest of the US and was introduced to tea at a very young age - unsweetened iced tea, that is! It was not until my early 20s, when I was seeking a lighter alternative to coffee, that I took tea drinking to a new level. I still remember my mother suggesting that I try putting milk in a cup of black tea (something that actually sounded a bit repulsive at the time, but I gave it a go). I quickly became tired of supermarket tea and started ordering teas from shops and companies all over the US. Throughout my 20s and now into my early 30s, pursuits in higher education studies, work opportunities and marriage have given me opportunities to live in the UK, Canada and Germany and travel around the world, which has sparked an even greater interest in tea and the culture of tea. This blog is my outlet to discuss my love of tea and show off some of my photos. All images and opinions on this blog are my own, unless stated otherwise. I retain copyright on all photographs, but please do not hesitate to contact me at teaxplorer@gmail.com if you wish to reproduce any of my images. Likewise, if you would like me to review and photograph any teas for you, please get in touch. I would be happy to hear from you. Thank you for stopping by my blog, and I hope you return many times! Happy drinking! Drew B (@teaxplorer)
This entry was posted in Chinese oolong, Grey's Teas, Roasted oolong and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment